CONTACT:  Sarah Potter
Communications Coordinator



Vol. 46, No. 88
December 20, 2012

Eight Missouri Schools in the Running for 'Blue Ribbon' Recognition

Eight public schools in Missouri have been invited by the U.S. Department of Education to apply for national Blue Ribbon Schools recognition.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes schools where students are achieving at high levels or where significant progress is being made in closing achievement gaps, especially for disadvantaged and minority students. The Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education was allowed to nominate eight schools for the 2013 awards, based on the state's public school enrollment.

Missouri's nominees are:

  • Bolivar High School, Bolivar R-1 School District
    Dr. David Geurin, principal
  • Brentwood High School, Brentwood School District
    Dr. Donald Rugraff, principal
  • Lee's Summit West High School, Lee's Summit R-7 School District
    Dr. David Sharp, principal
  • Nixa High School, Nixa R-2 School District
    Mark McGehee, principal
  • Sappington Elementary School, Lindbergh Schools, St. Louis
    Craig Hamby, principal
  • Spokane High School, Spokane R-7 School District, Highlandville
    Jim Millsap, principal
  • Willow Springs High School, Willow Springs R-4 School District
    Jimalee James, principal
  • W.W. Keysor Elementary School, Kirkwood R-7 School District
    Dr. Bryan Painter, principal

"We are proud to nominate these schools for this honor," said Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. "We commend the teachers and administrators for their commitment to preparing all students for college, other postsecondary training and careers."

College- and career-readiness is a primary goal for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education's Top 10 by 20 initiative, which calls for education in Missouri to rank in the top 10 nationwide by 2020.

In addition to a nearly year-long application and review process, schools nominated for the recognition must meet specific levels of achievement, called annual measurable objectives, during the state's spring assessment testing. The Blue Ribbon Schools will be announced in September 2013.

Since 1982, the U.S. Department of Education's Blue Ribbon Schools Program has recognized more than 7,000 of America's most successful public and private elementary, middle and high schools.