CONTACT:  Sarah Potter
Communications Coordinator


Vol. 46, No. 64
September 10, 2012

Four Public Schools Earn National "Blue Ribbon" Honors

Four public high schools in Missouri have been selected as 2012 Blue Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education. A total of 269 schools earned national honors this year — 219 public and 50 private — according to the announcement made Friday by Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

Among the Blue Ribbon Schools are:

Lawson High School
Lawson R-XIV School District
Lawson, Mo.

Lindbergh Sr. High School
Lindbergh School District
St. Louis, Mo.

Park Hill South High School
Park Hill School District
Kansas City, Mo.

Valley Park Sr. High School
Valley Park School District
Valley Park, Mo.

The national award honors schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress to close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

"We congratulate the administration, teachers and students of these schools for their work in ensuring students are prepared for college and/or a career once they graduate," said Missouri Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro. "This standard of excellence is what we need from each district across Missouri to become one of the top 10 performing states in education by the year 2020."

The schools were also recognized earlier this year in the state-level Gold Star Schools program, conducted by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

Since 1982, more than 7,000 of America’s schools have received the coveted Blue Ribbon Schools Award. Both national and state programs are part of a larger effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school leadership and teaching practices.

This year’s Blue Ribbon Schools winners will be formally recognized Nov. 12-13 at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.